Exclusive Love Chpt: 29

Chapter (xxix)



Edited: 06.07.2023

Xia Xi’ai was stunned for a full three seconds before speaking: “……Aren’t you being a bit too presumptuous? Have you even asked for my opinion?” 

Jiang Liushen was composed: “Hear me out first, this is a comedy-style drama directed by He An. There is a singer in it with just a few lines and the main responsibility is still singing the movie’s opening song. Who else could it be but you? So of course, I immediately recommended you.”

Xia Xi’ai almost had a heart attack after hearing this: “You want me, someone who has never acted before…….to act in He An’s movie?”

Who did he think He An was? He was a first-class director internationally and domestically! He had won countless awards and was also one of the judges for the Golden Film Award. He had extremely strict requirements on actors and even Xia Xi’ai, who didn’t bother too much with the acting industry, had heard of him. In the past, there was a well-known actor in Dragon Soar who went to an audition and ended up being harshly berated. He became so depressed that he almost gave up his acting career.

He was a singer with no acting experience, how could he deserve to play in He An’s movie?

“Don’t be nervous.” Jiang Liushen said, “I’ve arranged it all to the tee. Even if you don’t act well, at most you’ll be scolded and replaced, the opening song is still yours to sing.”

“……”

If he didn’t perform well, he would be replaced. It was indeed very clear and to the point. 

Xia Xi’ai developed a headache: “We will discuss this when you come back. I will take a look at the script first.” 

“Very well, that’s a good boy. Remember to rest properly.”

Jiang Liushen happily hung up the phone and the person sitting on the sofa on the other side of the room opened his mouth: “Is this the kiddo you were talking about?” 

“Yes, he has a nice voice, right? Please take care of him, Director He.”

He An, who was still hale and hearty at nearly 60, nodded his head: “He does have a nice voice, but I don’t remember much of his songs and if you hadn’t recommended him, I wouldn’t have dared to take the risk.”

“He was stifled by his crappy company before and sang run-of-the-mill pop songs. What a waste of his good voice. When I sign him over, he will be free and will definitely shine.”

“But why do I feel that you’d rather keep him within your grasp than give him freedom?” He An gave him a meaningful look: “Liushen, after going on a hiatus for a year, are you still blaming yourself for what happened to Fang Mao?” 

Jiang Liushen tightened his hand holding the red wine glass and remained silent.

He An sighed: “Even if you’re still feeling guilty about that, you can’t treat someone else as a substitute. No matter how much you protect him, the people that have passed on will not come back.” 

“Why do you all think I see him as a substitute?” Jiang Liushen asked rhetorically, “Can’t I take care of him because I genuinely want to?”

“Director He, I’m not that fragile. Although Fang Mao’s incident did hit me hard, I’ve already moved on after going on the one-year hiatus.”

“Of course, the shadows are still there, I admit it, otherwise I wouldn’t have decided to participate in a variety show the moment I came back. I probably wanted to avoid the mentality of acting.”

“However, thanks to my participation in that program, I became familiar with this little kiddo surnamed Xia.”

If you aren’t reading this on acupofhalfmoon.wordpress.com, then it has been reposted without permission. Please don’t give ad revenue to them and come join us for tea. I promise we don’t bite.

Jiang Liushen said slowly: “His life experience is worse than Fang Mao, but he is still so brave and full of hope. After I met him, I really came out of the shadow of guilt. To be honest, a large part of why I recommended him to act with me in your film was out of personal reasons.”

Jiang Liushen paused for a long time and came to a conclusion that he himself had only just realized:

“He was the one who gave me the courage and confidence to continue acting, so I also wanted to give him a chance to start over with me.”

As soon as he said this, he suddenly felt that something was wrong with him, but he couldn’t grasp the fleeting strange feeling in his heart.

“I hope he can really get you back on your feet.” He An said, “Because of that incident, you asked me to exclude you from the nomination for last year’s Golden Film Award. To be honest, I thought it was a pity. In my opinion, the you back then was by far the most successful in portraying that role.”

Jiang Liushen smiled: “Director He, my most successful role is always the next one.”

He An nodded gratefully: “I’m relieved that you think so. I’ll be waiting to hand you the next award.” 

“No problem, after resting for so long, it’s about time to move my muscles.”

The film festival lasted for ten days and well-known actors and directors from all over the world were invited to attend. Various entertainment media have dispatched elite reporters to follow up and report. In contrast, there wasn’t much entertainment news that had attracted attention in China recently, except for the acquisition of Dragon Soar. 

Almost all the artists under the original Dragon Soar Group chose to renew their contracts with the new owner, and Xia Xi’ai, a special case, became the object of much media gossip.

Public opinion was roughly divided into two factions. The support faction led by fans believe that he terminated the contract on his own initiative, while the detractor faction led by the marketing accounts spread rumors that he was fired for violating company regulations. Passers-by on both sides enjoyed the show with people agreeing on both sides. As a result, the internet was very rowdy for a few days. 

“I can tell from a glance that someone was paid to make you look bad! These marketing accounts are basically writing the same thing!” Xu Tong said in anger.

Xia Xi’ai didn’t pay much attention to these things and continued to concentrate on practicing the piano without raising his head: “The others have renewed their contracts? What about Sister Long?”

“Sherry told me that Sister Long resigned. I don’t know whether she was kicked out or left voluntarily.”

“Does she have any plans?”

“Not sure. So far I don’t seem to have heard that she has found a new employer or set up her own business.”

“I tried calling her several times, but she didn’t pick up.” Xia Xi’ai lowered his eyes, “Does Sister Long really want to cut off all contact with me? Did I go too far?……”

“It’s not your fault, I have noticed your kindness to her in the past two years. To be honest, the money you made for her was more than enough to repay her kindness. And how did she treat you in the end? In order to earn more money, she wants to force you to take a path you don’t like. She never cared about your wishes so why are you still thinking about her?” 

“……Little Tong, I didn’t expect you to have such a resolute side.”

“Haha, how can I become an assistant to a popular celebrity without a bit of awareness!” Xu Tong chuckled, “My attitude varies from person to person, of course, I have to be kind to the fairies who are descending to this world!”

“Hold it right there.” Xia Xi’ai was afraid that she would incessantly boast again and timely change the topic: “Has anyone from other companies contacted you these two days?”

“There was. There’s so much that my phone almost burst and I had to set it to silent. Anyway, you wanted me to refuse them all, right?”

“Yes, keep it up.”

“But little brother, you won’t have a backup plan like this. What if Jiang Liushen decides to change his mind?” 

“That won’t happen.”

“That’s hard to say. Didn’t he always tease you before?”

“That’s different. He won’t lie to me about such an important matter.”

“You trust him that much? You didn’t even trust Sister Long despite being under her for two years yet you’re acting like sworn brothers with him even though you’ve only known him for about two months.” 

Xia Xi’ai blushed: “I……just trust him.”

In fact, sometimes he felt guilty when he thought about it. What if Jiang Liushen really did regret it? He didn’t dare to think too deeply about the matter so he had to find reasons to convince himself.

“Signing me will be a win-win deal for the both of us, there is no reason for him to back out. And what does someone with a high caliber like him gain from deceiving a small singer like me? It won’t get him any benefits.”

Xu Tong pondered for a while and thought it made sense: “Okay, then let’s wait for him to sign the contract when he returns next week.” 

Xia Xi’ai nodded his head, secretly relieved.

What he said just now was nothing more than self-consolation. He knew very well in his heart that even if there was no benefit in this, even if Jiang Liushen didn’t have such a high caliber, he would still choose to believe Jiang Liushen.

This was the kind of trust that was unexplainable and could even be considered to be blind trust. It was as if he had been intoxicated. The other party only gave a verbal promise and he unconditionally put all his chips on it.

He always seemed to do this kind of impulsive thing and every time, he would end up in a mess.

But not this time.

Xia Xi’ai pursed his lips and smiled, his heart leaping with anticipation for no reason. His slender fingers pressed the keys and played the first note of the tune. The sound of the piano was simple and vivid, like an uncut jade falling into the plate with a tinkle. Although his skills weren’t the best, he had made significant progress and his constant practicing these days were not in vain. 

Jiang Liushen said he would also go to the awards ceremony……He thought highly of him so he didn’t want to let him down. 

When he comes back, I’ll play this song for him. I hope…….he’ll like it.



Buy Me a Coffee at ko-fi.com

Published by Satsuki

Hi, I like BL

One thought on “Exclusive Love Chpt: 29

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started