Lord, Your Immortal Plant has Slipped Away Again Chpt: 59

LYIPhSAA (lix)



Edited: 09.20.2023

Since the misunderstanding between the two had been cleared up, Ye Zi no longer changed back to his original form in front of Gu Yan. The two slept in the same bed every day, but Ye Zi always slept until noon before waking up.

On this day, when Ye Zi woke up, lunch had already been served. He yawned and walked out of the inner room and noticed Gu Yan sitting at the table.

Ye Zi sleepily greeted him: “Good morning, Your Majesty.”

Gu Yan swept him a glance: “You call this morning? It’s already noon”

Ye Zi muttered something before walking to the table: “What are you doing?”

Gu Yan didn’t intend to hide anything. He turned sideways, gave up half of his chair to Ye Zi, and unfolded the letter in his hand. However, Ye Zi didn’t even look at it. He leaned on his shoulder and asked vaguely: “I’m so sleepy. I don’t want to read. What is this?”

Gu Yan helplessly shook his head: “It’s the thing you’ve been constantly concerned about, Gu Xuan has already found the person who spread the rumors in Chang’an City.”

Ye Zi instantly sobered up a bit and looked up at him: “Does Emperor Jinghe know about this?”

“Mnn.” Gu Yan answered, “Gu Xuan just sent news from the palace. He sent the person who spread the rumors to the authorities and wrote a report to present to Emperor Jinghe.”

“Then the Wen family……”

“The Duke of Protection is fine.” Gu Yan said, “That person only admitted to spreading rumors, no one will connect him to the Wen family.”

Ye Zi was stunned for a moment: “But if this is the case, will they give up?”

“It’s precisely because we’re worried that they won’t give up that we have to do this.”

Ye Zi was a bit confused and tilted his head blankly, not understanding what Gu Yan was saying.

Gu Yan patiently explained: “It’s not that Gu Xuan didn’t find evidence that the Duke of Protection was spreading rumors, but he deliberately concealed it.”

Ye Zi reacted: “He wants to use this for blackmail?”

“One is blackmailing and the other is for fear of pushing the Wen family to the brink. If they are driven into a panic, they might go to the Imperial court to expose you again.” Gu Yan said, “You are an immortal plant in disguise, even if Emperor Jinghe finds another Taoist Priest to come, you would have no reason to be afraid. But that little sparrow isn’t the same, that’s a real little demon. Gu Xuan is more afraid of the Wen family making a move than we are.”

Ye Zi nodded: “Having both sides take a step back is indeed safer.”

He paused for a moment and added: “But I really didn’t expect that Gu Xuan would be so attached to the little sparrow.”

“I also didn’t expect that he would consider this matter so carefully.” Gu Yan said, “I hadn’t interacted much with this cousin of mine in the past so I didn’t know him too well. Even though he took my life in my previous life, that was forced by circumstances and I was the one who accepted my fate. I never knew that he could still care about someone like this.”

Ye Zi nodded and he couldn’t help but remember what the little gray sparrow had told him earlier.

Noble Consort Yu intended to choose a consort for Gu Xuan. Even if Gu Xuan didn’t agree to it now, as time goes by, how long could he disobey Noble Consort Yu?

Taking a step back, sooner or later, that person would claim the title of Emperor. And as the ruler of a country, how could he not have concubines and heirs?

Gu Yan noticed that the mood of the person next to him had suddenly become depressed. He turned his head and asked: “What’s wrong?”

If you aren’t reading this on acupofhalfmoon.wordpress.com, then it has been reposted without permission. Please don’t give ad revenue to them and come join us for tea. I promise we don’t bite.

“Nothing.” Ye Zi pulled Gu Yan’s finger and played with it, “Zicheng, I’m so lucky.”

How fortunate that the person he liked could leave everything behind for him without a second thought.

Gu Yan laughed softly: “My beloved consort, why have you suddenly become so sentimental?”

Ye Zi shook his head and didn’t say anything else.

Ye Zi picked up Gu Xuan’s letter and read it carefully: “Gu Xuan said that Wen Yi had sent someone to follow me secretly and that was how they discovered the secret. I have never harmed him before so why does he have someone constantly keeping tabs on me?”

Gu Yan got up and walked over to the candle flame. He removed the lampshade and threw in the letter, burning it to ashes. 

Gu Yan stared at the burning letter and sighed: “Indeed, we can’t keep having the Wen family make things worse behind the scenes like this.”

Ye Zi asked: “Then let’s think of a way to make him not target us so much?”

Gu Yan turned his head to meet his eyes and they both blurted out at the same time: “Commandery Princess Changning.”

Ye Zi smiled: “We both had the same idea.”

Gu Yan walked behind Ye Zi and bent down to wrap his arms around him: “Commandery Princess Changning helped me a lot in this matter. When she heard that Wen Yi had invited a Taoist Priest, she immediately passed the news to me.”

“So that’s how you knew.” Ye Zi was shocked and a little confused about whether to laugh or cry: “If Wen Shuhou knew that his own daughter was betraying him like this, he would probably pass out from anger.” 

Gu Yan snorted, “Why didn’t he think of about that when they forced Changning to throw herself into the lake? If I were Changning, I wouldn’t have taken my life so lightly. I would have secretly poisoned their meals so that they end up struggling with death rather than me.”

Ye Zi glanced at him: “Come on, who can force you to do something you don’t want to do? There’s only you forcing others.”

Gu Yan just smiled and didn’t reply.

Ye Zi thought for a moment and added: “When I followed Taoist Priest Guangxu to the Duke of Protection’s residence that time, it seemed that Commandery Princess Changning wasn’t doing too well, so I wanted to……”

“What?”

Ye Zi deliberated for a moment but didn’t continue. He leaned on Gu Yan and complained, “I’d better not think about it anymore, else you start nagging that I only worry about other people’s business.”

“Have I been spoiling you too much lately that you’ve learned to play mind games with me?” Gu Yan lightly pinched him on the face: “Isn’t it just trying to get her out? What is it that you can’t tell me and have to go around in circles?”

“Then I’ll thank Your Majesty on behalf of Commandery Princess Changning.” Ye Zi smiled, “You’re the one who said it, I wasn’t the one who said I was going to help her.” 

“You really……” Gu Yan shook his head helplessly, “Even if I have the intention to help her, I still need to have her consent to do so. Let’s do it this way, in a couple of days I’ll look for an opportunity to pass on a message to her to see what she thinks.”

Ye Zi cut in: “No need to bother, I’ll just go see her myself.”

Gu Yan refused without thinking: “You’re not allowed to go.”

Ye Zi glared at him: “Why?”

Gu Yan’s arm around him tightened: “I can ask my subordinate to pass on the message, there is no need for you to go yourself.” 

He said this in a sour manner and Ye Zi immediately could tell that something was wrong: “Your Majesty, why are you jealous? I have nothing to do with Commandery Princess Changning, I also am not interested in women.” 

Gu Yan didn’t reply, Ye Zi added: “Seriously, I’ve been like this since I was a child, I’m not interested in any women.”

Gu Yan raised his eyebrows: “Then are you interested in men?”

“Not really.” Ye Zi thought of something and couldn’t help but smile, “The place where I used to live was much more open-minded and there weren’t as many taboos between men and women as there are now. When I was still young, a few of my friends often asked me out so we could hook up with girls, but I always refused them.” 

The smile on Gu Yan’s face, however, faded a little and he looked at him with downcast eyes: “Will you blame me?”

“What?”

Gu Yan added: “You were clearly living a good life but it’s all because of me that you came here.”

Ye Zi shook his head: “Of course not.”

“I have never been interested in romance since I was a child. Although I lived a good life, I always felt that something was missing.” Ye Zi leaned in Gu Yan’s arms, “But now I realize that maybe it is because that world doesn’t have you.”

Ye Zi said: “When I first came here, I really wanted to go back. But after so much time has passed, the thought has become less strong. Although I occasionally think about it and miss my old life, people can’t be so greedy. There’s give and there’s take, there isn’t a lot that can accommodate both sides.” 

“……I’m doing well now, if my parents knew, they would be happy for me too.”

He had indeed complained about his fate in the past, but he had already spent ten years here after all and any further discontent and regrets would have long since disappeared over the long years.

What was more, he now had such an amazing person by his side.

Ye Zi raised his head and looked at Gu Yan. His eyes were bright and clear, without any impurities.

Gu Yan’s heart twitched and he lowered his head to plant a kiss on his lips.

As soon as he touched Ye Zi, the latter immediately parted his lips obediently and allowed him to kiss him.

Suddenly, a soft knock sounded outside the door.

The maidservant said softly outside the door: “Your Majesty, His Highness’s lunch is ready.”

Gu Yan immediately released the person in his arms.

Ye Zi reluctantly glanced at him and heard Gu Yan say with his usual expression: “Come in.”

The door to the room was pushed open and the maidservant entered with the meal.

Ye Zi had slept all morning. He didn’t feel it just now, but right as he smelled the aroma of food, he immediately felt hungry. After the dishes were laid out, Gu Yan dismissed the maidservant and served Ye Zi a bowl of soup with his own hands.

Gu Yan said: “You haven’t eaten anything all morning, drink some soup first to warm your stomach.”

If you aren’t reading this on acupofhalfmoon.wordpress.com, then it has been reposted without permission. Please don’t give ad revenue to them and come join us for tea. I promise we don’t bite.

Ye Zi obediently took it and drank it. His clamoring stomach finally relaxed a little and he started to feast.

“Your Majesty, you are so kind. I missed lunchtime, so I thought I had to go to the kitchen to see if there was anything to eat.”

Gu Yan said: “I thought you were about to wake up so I specially ordered someone to make it for you in advance. If you were to order someone to make food now, you’d have to wait a while again.” 

Ye Zi muttered something and ignored him, concentrating on eating.

Gu Yan asked: “What’s going on with you, lately you’ve been waking up later and later day after day.”

Ye Zi paused in his movements for a moment: “I don’t know, maybe it’s because the weather is getting warmer so I’m feeling a little bit more sleepy.”

“Are you lying to me?” Gu Yan turned his head to look at him and poked and prodded without mercy, “Not only are you sleepy, you’ve been eating a lot lately, twice as much as you used to.”

Ye Zi didn’t expect that he would find out. The guilt began to rise and he didn’t dare to look at him as he raised his voice in retort: “Can’t I eat more? Can the manor not afford to support me?”

“Naturally it can.” Gu Yan said, “I’m just worried. How about I get someone to invite Pei Ge here and have him take a look at you?”

Ye Zi looked up at him: “Your Majesty, I’m not a human being. No matter how superior Dr. Pei’s medical skills are, what will he be able to do?” 

“There must be……something he can do.”

Ye Zi continued eating and perfunctorily said: “No need, I’m really fine.”

Gu Yan paused and finally couldn’t help but say: “A Zi, did you know that your recent behavior has caused a lot of gossip in the manor?”

Ye Zi was stunned for a moment: “What gossip?”

Gu Yan’s complexion kept changing and it seemed that it was something difficult to say: “……They said that you are with child.”

“——!” Ye Zi was caught off guard and choked, coughing madly.

Before he finished, Gu Yan’s complexion looked ugly to the extreme. He gritted his teeth and said: “The third volume of ‘Diary of a Prince’s Manor’ also came out. The summary is that the young gentleman was gifted and was able to give the Prince twins.”

“Cough, cough, cough——” Ye Zi fiercely downed a large mouthful of tea and finally regained his composure. He said weakly, “Your Majesty, don’t tell me you believe that. I’m a man and men can’t give birth.”

Gu Yan gently stroked his back to even his breathing: “Of course I know that.”

Ye Zi was relieved before viciously saying: “One day, I will find the person who wrote ‘Diary of a Prince’s Manor’ and give them a good beating. It must be a person in the Prince Rui Manor!” 

Gu Yan didn’t reply and after a moment of silence, he added: “A Zi, is there really nothing wrong with your body?”

“Of course not.”

Gu Yan pursed his lips and said with deliberation, “But I heard that flowers and plants need to be pollinated in the Spring and Summer. If you need help……..you can tell me directly.”

Ye Zi: “……”

********

The author has something to say:

Gu Yan: Have you heard about artificial pollination?

Ye Zi: No…..No thanks_( :з」∠)_



Buy Me a Coffee at ko-fi.com

Published by Satsuki

Hi, I like BL

3 thoughts on “Lord, Your Immortal Plant has Slipped Away Again Chpt: 59

  1. Oh man I had to check the tags again to make sure there wasn’t mpreg because then little sparrow could marry his man without worry yet here we are. Can’t wait to find out what solution they’ll find for little sparrow because that sweet boy deserves a carefree lazy life.
    Thanks for the chapter!

    Liked by 2 people

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started